F-150 Rear Axle Recalls on 2021–2025 Max Tow Trucks, Explained

F-150 rear axle hub bolt recall showing the hub, axle shaft, and rear wheel assembly

Is your F-150’s rear clicking the axle hub bolt?

A clicking rear wheel on a 2021–2025 F-150 has a documented cause on one setup: the Trailer Tow Max Duty package with the 9.75-inch heavy-duty rear axle. Ford has filed two safety recalls, 23S65 and 25S82, for its rear axle hub bolt.

The short answer: two recalls, one axle

Ford estimated only 1–2% of recalled trucks would fail, but a failure can mean lost drive or a truck that won’t hold in Park.

Start here if you got a recall letter

  • Clicking, or holding a letter? Check the build-date table below.
  • No Max Tow package? These recalls don’t apply; see our guide to F-150 problems by model year.
  • Already paid for a repair? Jump to the reimbursement section.

ℹ️ Safety Note: The rear axle shaft and hub carry drive and help the truck hold in Park. Set the parking brake every time and have a Ford dealer inspect any clicking or rattling rear wheel. This article explains symptoms and coverage, not repairs.

Clicking vs. rattling: what each noise means

F-150 axle hub bolt clicking and rattling stages showing a loose and broken rear hub bolt
Clicking can indicate a loose hub bolt, while rattling can occur after the bolt breaks.

Ford’s recall filings describe two warning sounds, and each marks a different stage.

A click usually means the bolt is working loose

A clicking noise is what owners may hear as the hub bolt loosens. At that point the bolt is still there, but it no longer stops the hub shifting on the axle shaft.

A rattle in the center cap usually means it has broken

A rattle usually means the bolt has broken. Ford’s report notes that “the bolt head will be contained within the wheel center cap.”

A clunk as you stop has other causes; see our guide to an F-150 clunk when stopping.

Why one loose bolt can strip the whole hub

F-150 axle hub spline fretting showing how a loose hub bolt can damage the axle splines
A loose or broken hub bolt can allow movement between the hub and axle splines, accelerating wear over time.

The hub bolt doesn’t hold the wheel on; its job is to stop the hub and axle shaft shifting against each other.

How fretting and corrosion eat the splines

🔍 Why It Happens: With the bolt loose or broken, the hub splines and axle-shaft splines make tiny repeated movements. Ford calls this fretting. The rubbing sheds metal particles that, in a corrosive environment, corrode, expand and speed up the wear until the splines strip.

Why the wheel won’t come off — but the truck can lose drive

Ford’s dealer instructions state that losing the hub bolt won’t make the wheel separate. The risk is stripped splines. In 4×2 the truck can lose drive (it will still move in 4×4, if equipped), and Park may not hold unless the parking brake is set.

Which F-150s are covered, by build date

Your F-150 is covered only if it has the Max Tow package and the 9.75-inch heavy-duty ¾-float axle, and it was built inside one of these windows.

Max Tow + 9.75-inch axle: the condition that matters

Model year alone doesn’t decide it. Ford says these trucks weren’t built in VIN order, so check yours with our Recall & VIN Lookup Helper.

ProgramApplies ToBuild windowTrucks (Ford est. % with defect)Remedy
22B34 customer satisfaction programCertain 2021–2022Not stated in the bulletin we reviewedNot statedRear half-shaft and hub assembly replacement
23S65 / NHTSA 23V896 safety recallCertain 2021–2023Jan 28, 2020 – Dec 25, 2022112,965 (2%)Both rear axle shaft assemblies replaced, free
25S82 / NHTSA 25V512 safety recallCertain 2023–2025Jan 2, 2023 – May 21, 2025103,174 (1%)Both assemblies replaced with a revised design, free
No campaignTrucks built after the May 2025 design changeAfter May 21, 2025—Revised spline geometry and M24 stud/nut fitted at the factory

Sources: Ford’s Part 573 reports for recall 23S65 and recall 25S82. The 22B34 row comes from Ford’s 23S65 dealer bulletin. Checked September 29, 2026.

2021–2023 trucks (23S65)

Covers 54,509 (2021), 47,886 (2022) and 10,570 (2023) trucks.

2023–2025 trucks (25S82)

Covers 44,922 (2023), 38,144 (2024) and 20,108 (2025) trucks. For a 2023, the build date decides which campaign applies.

Trucks built after May 2025

Ford introduced a revised axle shaft in May 2025; neither campaign covers later builds.

What Ford’s recall documents actually say

The paper trail runs from a service program to two federal recalls.

From a 2022 service program to two safety recalls

Before the recalls, Ford handled failures under Customer Satisfaction Program 22B34 (supplement dated July 7, 2023). Recall 23V896 followed on December 22, 2023, and final-remedy letters were mailed May 9, 2025. After counting 194 stripped-spline warranty claims on later builds, Ford filed 25V512 on August 8, 2025.

What dealers are told to replace

Ford’s dealer instructions for recall 23S65 tell technicians to replace both sides, not just the noisy one.

📋 On the Record: Both recalls replace the recalled left (ML3W-4725-C) and right (ML3W-4234-C) rear axle shaft assemblies free of charge. Ford’s 25S82 filing describes the replacements as using revised spline geometry and fasteners. Neither campaign showed a closure in the NHTSA filings we reviewed on September 29, 2026.

What the fix costs you — and when Ford pays

Covered trucks get the axle repair free; outside the campaigns, costs are less clear.

Inside a recall: $0 for both axle assemblies

💵 What It Costs: Covered by 23S65 or 25S82: $0, parts and labour, at a Ford or Lincoln dealer. Get a written quote that splits parts from labour.

💵 On these numbers: Costs shown are typical ranges, not quotes. Labour rates vary sharply by region and between dealer and independent shops, and parts pricing moves. Use these to judge whether a quote is in the right neighbourhood, not to predict your invoice.

Already paid? Reimbursement rules

Ford applies its general reimbursement plan. For 23S65, eligibility was estimated to end February 23, 2024, and refunds cover rear axle shaft and hub assembly costs. The 25S82 filing we reviewed didn’t state an end date.

Parts delays: what owners have reported

Final 23S65 parts were promised for the first quarter of 2025. For 25S82, NHTSA’s record shows owner letters mailed August 22, 2025, yet owner forum threads into early 2026 describe dealers still waiting on parts. Ask your dealer for a parts ETA in writing.

Not covered but symptomatic

Ask a Ford dealer to inspect both hub bolts, photograph any loose or broken one, and cite 25S82 as the related campaign when asking about warranty or goodwill help.

What to do until your axles are replaced

The interim steps are simple, and Ford itself recommends the first one.

Set the parking brake every time

Ford’s recall FAQ for 23S65 owners tells them to use the electronic parking brake and see a dealer if the rear-wheel center cap clicks or rattles. Set it every time, even though it applies automatically in some conditions. We cover a separate Park-related campaign for some 2021 trucks in our 2021 F-150 park pawl recall guide.

What to ask the dealer

✅ Do This: Ask the service advisor to:

  1. Check OASIS for 23S65 and 25S82 on your VIN.
  2. Inspect both rear wheel-end hub bolts and the hub splines.
  3. If a bolt is loose or broken, replace both rear axle shaft assemblies under the recall.

F-150 rear axle recall: common questions

1. Is it safe to drive an F-150 with a clicking rear axle?

On covered trucks, a clicking rear wheel signals a loosening hub bolt that can progress to lost drive or a Park that won’t hold. Set the parking brake and have a Ford dealer inspect it.

2. Can the rear wheel come off if the F-150 hub bolt breaks?

No. Ford’s dealer instructions state losing the hub bolt won’t separate the wheel; the risk is stripped splines and lost drive. Have a dealer inspect it.

3. Is my 2024 F-150 in the rear axle recall?

Only if it has the Trailer Tow Max Duty package and 9.75-inch axle; recall 25S82 covers those built through May 21, 2025. Confirm with your VIN.

4. Is a 2023 F-150 covered by 23S65 or 25S82?

Build date decides: 2023 Max Tow trucks built through December 25, 2022 fall under 23S65; those built from January 2, 2023 fall under 25S82.

5. Does the F-150 axle recall repair cost anything?

No. Under 23S65 and 25S82, Ford or Lincoln dealers replace both rear axle shaft assemblies free of charge.

6. Will Ford reimburse an earlier F-150 axle repair?

Possibly, under Ford’s general reimbursement plan. For 23S65, refunds cover axle shaft and hub assembly costs, with eligibility estimated to end February 23, 2024.

7. Does the axle hub bolt recall cover F-150s without Max Tow?

No. Both recalls cover only trucks with the Trailer Tow Max Duty package and the 9.75-inch heavy-duty ¾-float axle.

8. Are 2026 F-150s in the rear axle hub bolt recall?

Neither campaign covers them. 25S82 ends with May 21, 2025 builds, and Ford introduced a revised axle shaft in May 2025.

9. What does the dealer replace in the F-150 axle recall?

Both left and right rear axle shaft assemblies, even if only one side is clicking, using a design with revised splines and fasteners.

10. My F-150 clicks but isn’t in the recall — what now?

Ask a Ford dealer to inspect both rear hub bolts, photograph any loose or broken one, and cite 25S82 as the related campaign.

Your next step

Enter your 17-digit VIN in NHTSA’s recall lookup and look for 23S65 or 25S82. If either is open, book the repair and set the parking brake until it’s done. If neither appears but your truck clicks, a dealer inspection is still the right call.

Similar Posts